Long distance – tough race

Phoenix Contact goes racing. Travel diary of three brave East Westphalians who set off south to watch a Moto E-GP race in San Marino, Italy – all electric, of course!

Background

Phoenix Contact extends its commitment to Energica, the manufacturer of sporty e-bikes. And since one of the races of the Moto-E-GP is taking place in the home country of the speedy e-bikes, this is the ideal setting to take a look behind the scenes. And to make a report about it at the same time. And, of course, to take a spin on one of the street versions of the Energica motorcycles. After all, you’re already in Italy. It’s not the ugliest place to be when you’re riding two wheels in style around the bends.

A Saturday in September

Julia Plöger, Ralf Bungenstock and Cedric Deppe have set off from their workplace at Phoenix Contact E-Mobility in Schieder in an eye-catching foiled Audi Q4 e-tron. A good 1,000 kilometers lie ahead of them on the very first day, with three charging stops planned in advance via app. All three (still) drive internal combustion engines in their private lives, so they are ideal test subjects to see whether e-mobility is really suitable for long distances. Cedric also likes to ride his Honda CBR 600 in his private life and therefore not only has shorts and sneakers, but also a matching motorcycle suit and helmet in his luggage. Julia and Ralf work in communications, so they are the reporters on the spot.

We ride towards the sun

“We are totally surprised at how smoothly we got the first good 1,000 kilometers behind us,” enthuses the speedy trio at the end of the start-up day. The Audi has clearly won a place in the automotive heart of Ralf in particular. “It’s amazing how easy the Audi makes long-distance travel. And “refueling” is no hurdle at all. We recharged a total of three times, standing at the charging stations for just under 30 minutes each time. While the car was charging, we treated ourselves to a coffee. And we talked shop with passers-by and other electromobile enthusiasts, because we were often approached and got into conversation, since we drive the Audi with a conspicuous livery and our clothing also indicates Phoenix Contact.”

The Q4 e-tron consumed an average of 17.4 kW per 100 kilometers. “And it recuperated well behind the burner,” say Julia and Cedric, impressed by the economical manners of the Ingolstadt e-combi. For a vehicle that already weighs around 2,000 kg when empty and is also fully loaded, this is a very good performance balance.

Shortly before Rimini, the three e-adventurers finally arrived at their #roadtoItaly destination. They quickly plugged the Audi into the charging station, fed Instagram and LinkedIn with the daily information, and then headed to the hotel. There’s a race coming up tomorrow!

So stay tuned – we report daily!

Der Tag des Rennens – Ferrari gewinnt!

Energica
FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup
Moto E am Sachsenring

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Back to top button

Long distance – tough race

Phoenix Contact goes Racing. Reisetagebuch von drei wackeren Ostwestfalen, die sich in den Süden aufmachen, um in Italien ein Rennen der Moto E-GP in San Marino zu verfolgen – natürlich alles rein elektrisch!

Hintergrund

Phoenix Contact verlängert sein Engagement bei Energica, dem Hersteller von sportlichen E-Bikes. Und da gerade eines der Rennen der Moto-E-GP im Heimatland der rasanten Flitzer anliegt, ist das die ideale Kulisse, um hinter selbige zu schauen. Und dabei gleich eine Reportage darüber zu machen. Und natürlich auch mal eine Runde mit einer der Straßenversionen der Energica-Motorräder zu drehen. Schließlich ist man dann ja schon in Italien. Nicht der hässlichste Ort, um auf zwei Rädern stilvoll durch die Kurven zu pfeilen.

Ein Samstag im September

Julia Plöger, Ralf Bungenstock und Cedric Deppe sind mit einem auffällig folierten Audi Q4 e-tron von ihrem Arbeitsplatz bei Phoenix Contact E-Mobility in Schieder gestartet. Gute 1.000 Kilometer liegen schon am ersten Tag vor ihnen, per App wurden drei Ladestopps vorausgeplant. Alle drei fahren privat (noch) Verbrenner, sind also ideale Testpersonen, ob denn die E-Mobilität wirklich auch langstreckentauglich ist. Cedric ist darüber hinaus privat gern auf seiner Honda CBR 600 motorsportlich unterwegs und hat daher nicht nur Shorts und Sneaker, sondern auch eine passende Motorradkombi samt Helm im Gepäck. Julia und Ralf arbeiten im Bereich Kommunikation, sind also die rasenden Reporter vor Ort.

Wir fahren der Sonne entgegen

„Wir sind total überrascht, wie problemlos wir die ersten gut 1.000 Kilometer hinter uns gebracht haben“, schwärmt das rasante Trio am Ende des Anfahrttages. Der Audi hat sich ganz offensichtlich einen Platz im automobilen Herzen vor allem von Ralf erobert. „Wahnsinn, wie einfach der Audi das Langstreckenreisen macht. Und das „Tanken“ ist überhaupt keine Hürde. Wir haben insgesamt dreimal aufgeladen, jeweils knapp 30 Minuten an den Ladesäulen gestanden. Während das Auto lädt, haben wir uns einen Kaffee gegönnt. Und mit Passanten und anderen Elektromobilisten gefachsimpelt, denn wir sind häufig angesprochen worden und ins Gespräch gekommen, da wir den Audi ja auffällig foliert fahren und auch unsere Kleidung auf Phoenix Contact hinweist.“

Durchschnittlich 17,4 kW hat der Q4 e-tron auf 100 Kilometer verbraucht. „Und vor allem hinter dem Brenner ordentlich rekuperiert“, zeigen sich Julia und Cedric beeindruckt von den sparsamen Manieren des Ingolstädter E-Kombis. Für ein Fahrzeug, das schon im Leergewicht runde 2.000 kg wiegt und dazu vollbeladen ist, eine sehr gute Leistungsbilanz.

Kurz vor Rimini sind die drei E-Abenteurer dann endlich am Ziel ihrer #roadtoItaly angekommen. Schnell den Audi an die Ladesäule geklemmt, Instagram und LinkedIn mit den täglichen Infos gefüttert und dann ab ins Hotel. Morgen steht ein Rennen bevor!

Also dranbleiben – wir berichten täglich!

Der Tag des Rennens – Ferrari gewinnt!

Energica
FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup
Moto E am Sachsenring

This post is also available in: English

Schaltfläche "Zurück zum Anfang"